Unexpected pottering

21 Oct

Having spent most of the last week with little energy & no enthusiasm (for anything) while trying & failing to fend off a horrid cold. I am now ready & raring to get out of the house and be productive! Waking up this morning our intentions were to leisurely head out to Rufford Park for a walk, cup of tea & some cake.

The first unexpected thing of the day was the eerie & beautifully misty morning (it was looking optimistically bright through the bedroom curtains), all was very peaceful outside, dew had settled on all the cobwebs in my garden…so I headed outside with my camera, I got a bit snap happy but these few are my favourite images.
Misty morning Cobwebspretty cobwebs

I packed up my camera with the intention of getting some lovely Autumnal photos at Rufford. As we headed out we saw signs for Thoresby Park Craft, Food & Gift fair & thought why not, so off we went along our unexpected route!

The fair was a modest size, with several tents with various crafts on display as well as lots of food, market stalls, displays, ferret racing, pony trap rides. The fair was a complete mix of things, from the bizarre (& slightly tacky) to the very traditional & inventive. It does provide something for everyone I suppose, however there were a few too many QVC-esque stalls for me, selling food processors at a great price, available today only…!  The food stalls were what I’d expect to see, fudge, burgers, cheese, real ale, sweets, cookies & cakes, we treated ourselves to a burger, Martin went for a Texan 6oz & I went for Kangaroo – very tasty!

kangaroo burger mmm

I enjoyed seeing crafts people at work (& on show), wood sculptors, stone masons and glass blowing, as well as there being some quite traditional stalls there were some proper country market stalls selling practical wares (I bought some very reasonably priced lambs wool insoles – to keep my feet nice & toasty). We then headed up to The Courtyard, for a cup of tea & a bun, I do enjoy visiting old buildings, especially ones that still have evidence of their previous uses. In this case some of the shops around the court yard still had the stall dividers from when the buildings would have houses the estates animals. So overall a lovely, unexpected, little potter around.

Thorseby Hall - now a swanky Hotel

Thoresby Hall – now a swanky Hotel

Lovely Blue Gate to the Courtyard

Lovely Blue Gate to the Courtyard

Now I’m busy catching up with some crafting, including blocking a jumper I recently finished knitting (a blog will follow soon about that project), and I’m hatching a plan to adapt a dress I recently acquired when my friends & I had a clothes swap…watch this space!

2 Responses to “Unexpected pottering”

  1. Guzzisue October 21, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Hi sounds like a good day out, seem to remember coming home with goodies like honey last time we went.x

    Like

    • nettynot October 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      Yes it was good – glad I was wearing welly though!
      There were signs ‘Beware live Bees’ I saw lots of honey, but no bees!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

