New Year – 2013!

13 Jan

The new year is just about in full swing, it got off to a great start with a small & lovely fancy dress party at a friend’s house, here’s my costume – the theme was favourite animals! I felt like a big kid again making my costume out of an old cardigan, some fabric & felt – great fun!

Fancy dress New Years Eve!

A lovely & funny bunch of wonderful people (plus my owly costume)! Great fun!

I hope to continue my year as it started – doing what I love – being creative and spending time with friends! Last weekend I helped out a friend with a photo shoot for a lovely new hat & mittens pattern she’d designed & knitted, you can have a sneak peak at them on her facebook page. It was a slightly damp, but bright day, which provided a great wintery atmosphere at Wollaton Park, we had a little potter around the lake & I took the opportunity to take a few photos of the lovely deer before having a cuppa & a cookie in the cafe!

The lovely Deer at Wollaton!

The lovely Deer at Wollaton!

I have spent any spare time I’ve had this week organising my fabric stash – after creating some inventive storage for my small craft room with the help of Martin, who’s light bulb moment it was to put wheels on the bottom of a shelving unit – genius! Perfect for a small room like mine, where space is limited, I can wheel it away into the corner & pull it out whenever I need something!

Brilliant storage solution - shelves on wheels! Slides nicely down the gap by my worktop!

Brilliant storage solution – shelves on wheels! Slides nicely down the gap by my worktop!

A few months ago I discovered Pinterest, I may initially have got a little addicted (I’ve calmed down a little now) – I love it! It’s a wonderful way to collect ideas for all kinds of projects and plans. Making plans is a great way to start the new year, January can be a bummer, the weather is cold, a bit miserable, and everyone’s watching the pennies – but planning projects or holidays costs nothing and gives you something to look forward to.

I have created a board on Pinterest called “2013 projects”, at the moment they’re all fairly achievable aims, some decorating, others new skills I want to learn. What’s great is that since I’ve encouraged several friends onto Pinterest (they too have become a little addicted) they’ve seen my pins and I’ve had already had conversations (in the real world) about my ideas and plans. I now have someone to go learn basket weaving with & had a gentle nudge of encouragement to complete one of my ongoing blanket projects. I love that a list that I might have made in a little note book (and inevitably been forgotten about a month down the line) is kept fresh and I can constantly add to it and it is already having a positive effect.

You can find me on Pinterest, if you like (Steph Gibbs) & check out my boards.

You can find me on Pinterest, if you like (Steph Gibbs) & check out my boards.

Future plans…

I was very fortunate that when I moved into my very own house several years ago, I was given several useful pieces of furniture from parents & friends of my parents (who fortunately were down sizing just at the right time for me). I also bought a couple of bog standard Ikea items so that I had everything I realistically needed. I appreciated it all, (I’d have been sat on the floor of my living room for some time otherwise, not to mention having nowhere to sleep or store any crockery). It is now time to start replacing the old (& now a little worn out) pieces with items of my choosing. I can’t wait! It’s going to be a gradual transformation, however what I am looking forward to most is having little projects on the go, being able to think what would I like in that room, as opposed to where can a put this piece I’ve been given. I’m also looking forward to giving my old pieces of furniture new homes or a new least of life. Again some of these projects have already made it on to my Pinterest board for 2013 projects.

I will be writing blogs about all my projects and any transformations I make to my home, so watch this space! I have a few busy weekends ahead of me, so today I’m having a relaxing day, knitting, catching up on a few films & I just baked this lemon loaf!

I do love a bit of baking - homemade cakes are the best kind. This recipe was taken from The Hummingbird bakery cookbook.

I do love a bit of baking – homemade cakes are the best kind. This recipe was taken from The Hummingbird bakery cookbook. Mmm!

One Response to “New Year – 2013!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flying February « - February 21, 2013

    […] a previous post I mentioned helping out my friend with a small photo shoot at Wollaton Park, I can now reveal the end result. Jem Weston’s wonderful […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

