Valencake Day & a toasty hat!

14 Feb

It’s a busy week this week for both my boyfriend & I so we’re combining two days into one this week and this evening we’ll be celebration valencake day! This will mostly involve watching a rom com while eating lots of pancakes! Brilliant!
Also this week I’m quite excited to be going on a good friend Hen do (it will be lovely & low key) not a single ‘L’ plate or set of bunny ears in sight (thank god)! We’re going to Center Parcs for a relaxed girly weekend. I’ve already started thinking about what to take with me (I’ve not had a holiday in a while) & since this week has been quite chilly, a hat is definitely needed. I have several hand knitted hats – but not all of them that effective against breezy weather, so what I perfect excuse to knit a new one!

A lot of hats don't siut me, so having knitted several different styles I have learnt what does & doesn't work for me & my head!

A lot of hats don’t suit me, so having knitted several different styles I have learnt what does & doesn’t work for me & my head – fitted yet a bit slouchy!

I pick up this lovely ball of yarn when I had the opportunity to go to Get Knitted in Bristol, I forget what the actual yarn was, but I do know it’s an Aran weight teal wool blend with tweedy flecks – great for a hat (I had 100g & didn’t use it all)!

Here’s the knitting pattern, in case you’d like to knit it, if have any question, feel free to leave a comment & I’ll get back to you as soon as I can (I’ve knitted a few of my own designs but this is the first knitting pattern I’ve actually written down).

Using 4.5mm circular needles cast on 80 sts.
Row 1 & 2 – 2×2 rib
Row 3 – 2 x 2 rib, but on all the k2, cf1 (I didn’t use a cable needle for this, with only swapping 2 stitches, it’s fairly easy to drop one off the needle and pick it back up & it’s much quicker).
Repeat rows 1 to 3 four more times.
knit two more rows of 2×2 rib.

Just a subtle bit of cabling adds a nice bit of texture to a simple knited hat!

Just a subtle bit of cabling adds a nice bit of texture to a simple knitted hat!

Swap to 5mm needles, I use interchangeable knit picks – so changing sizes is nice and easy.
Knit 2 rows, then place a marker after every 8th stitch as you knit a third row.

If you don't have stitch markers little loops of yarn in a contrasting colour works just as well!

If you don’t have stitch markers little loops of yarn in a contrasting colour works just as well!

On the following, then every 4th row M1 st after each marker. Once you’ve completed 3 increase rows, knit 6 rows, keeping the markers in place.

Next row K2tog after every marker
knit 2 rows
On the following row, the every alternate row K2tog after every marker, continue until you have just 8 sts left, cut excess yarn, leaving a long tail, thread through the remaining 8 sts and pull tight.

I decided to add a pom-pom onto my hat, so I used the long tail of yarn to sew it on. If you don’t want a pom-pom, just weave in the end of the yarn.
It’s a nice snug fit (& a bit slouchy), which is exactly what I was after, now my ears will be nice & toasty!

One Response to “Valencake Day & a toasty hat!”

  1. nicolaknits February 22, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    Hello! Thanks for “liking” my blog. Just popped in here to take a look and immediately see a fellow Knitpicks needles user! Will add you to my google reader 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

