Flying February

21 Feb

February so far has been a busy month & it’s not yet over. I have been on my good friend, Amy’s hen party last weekend, we had a great time at Sherwood Forest Center Parcs. One of the highlights for me was painting pottery, it was very relaxing (the only point of the weekend where we all fell silent – concentrating). Most of us painted coasters – nice small & practical items.

The lovely Amy went for a striking motif in subtle colours.

  The lovely Amy went for a striking motif in subtle colours.

Jem went for a wonderful bold & cheerful spotty design - I can't believe she did all the spots by eye.

Jem went for a wonderful bold & cheerful spotty design – I can’t believe she did all the spots by eye.

I went free-hand with dots & lines, sticking with 3 colours.

I went free-hand with dots & lines, sticking with 3 , it’s such a nice little memento of the weekend.

I’m just about caught up on sleep after one busy weekend & I’m already getting stuck into organising my stock for the Vintage & craft-fair I’m doing, on 3rd March at Wollaton park community hall, my first of 2013 and a perfect opportunity to make some lovely spring items & gifts in time for Mothers Day (don’t forget it’s 10th March).

Having creative friends is lovely, they help inspire you and they’re great for bouncing ideas off. It also means you’re there to help when they need it & you don’t feel bad when you need the favour returned – wonderful stuff!

In a previous post I mentioned helping out my friend with a small photo shoot at Wollaton Park, I can now reveal the end result. Jem Weston’s wonderful fairisle hat & mittens pattern created for Stash Fine Yarn, created in lovely Rowan felted tweed! I love the design (the squirrels are so cute & the colours are great) & fortunately Jem got the hat & mittens back in time to wear at the hen do!

Amazing fairisle Hat & Mitts, designed & modelled by Jem Weston for Stash fine yarn & photographed by me (Steph Gibbs) :)

Amazing fairisle Hat & Mitts, designed & modelled by Jem Weston for Stash fine yarn & photographed by me (Steph Gibbs) 🙂

Not only do I have creative friends, I also have very creative and talented colleagues at The Bead Shop, I spotted an update on facebook from Emma Ruth Jones’ about her latest creations & couldn’t resist this one…

I love this sweet little birdy, Emma has a few different coloured birds, including mint, perfect for spring summer, but I do love grey - it goes with almost everything!

I love this sweet little birdy, Emma has a few different coloured birds, including mint, perfect for spring summer, but I do love grey – it goes with almost everything! Thanks Emma!

Right, back to the crafting now, I just wanted to mention one other thing; on my way home from work today I needed a few small metal hooks for something I’m experimenting with at the moment, so I visited my favourite market stall, Aladdin’s Cave (& it really is). It is one of those places you pop in for one thing, spend ages looking around & buy more than you went in for, this little pile of treats only cost a whopping £2.99, absolute bargain!

BEST market stall ever! Aladdin's cave, Victoria Market, Nottingham!

BEST market stall ever! Aladdin’s cave, Victoria Market, Nottingham!

So now I’m off to go cut some paper up with my new fancy scissors & feel like a big kid!

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

