Spring Snow

25 Mar

I know I said February flew by, well so has March, it seems to be a re-occurring theme for 2013 so far. It has been lovely as I’ve spent time with family & old friends, however, I am now looking forward to next Sunday (the first of the year where we have nothing planned – I can’t wait)!

I can’t believe my last blog was over a month ago, eek, sorry for the time lapse. So the past few weeks have been spent celebrating various events. Firstly my Mum’s birthday, (the weekend after Mother’s day), so a bumper occasion. My sister & I went up to the Lake district to visit the parents for the weekend! We popped along with our Mum to a little vintage fair in Kirkby Lonsdale followed by tea & a bun. We had a great dinner out at a local restaurant, The Plough (I had a delicious Fish Pie, followed by thunder & lightning ice cream – mmm). The cardigan I’ve been knitting for my Mum’s birthday went down very well – the pattern is called Sedum, a chunky cardigan knitted mainly in moss stitch (I have made notes about the pattern on Ravelry) the sleeves aren’t actually different lengths, even thought the photo might suggest they are 😛

Sedum knitting pattern

Arnside

Border terriers
On Sunday we walked the families mad dogs, Tilly & Maisie (mother & daughter border terriers). We took them to Arnside where they could have a wild run about on the sand of Morecombe Bay before we went to our Parents favourite cafe, the Posh Sardine (a clever anagram of Arnside shop) where they sell a wonderful collection of antiques and gifts. They also have great cakes & will soon be having a collection of vintage clothing – a great little independent cafe & shop that you wouldn’t find on your average high street.
Posh Sardine

Then this weekend I was away on my lovely friend’s Hen Do (yes another one), this one was also at Center Parcs, however, this one was quite different with a very snowy back drop to the whole weekend!

Spring Snow
Stunning image - ice stream

A wonderful combination of catching up with old friends, amazing wintery weather, walking in the snow, a relaxing spa, nostalgic films + nail painting, loads of food, feeding ducks & fun times – made for a great weekend . Can’t wait for the Wedding – hopefully with some appropriate Spring weather.

girly weekend

After the success of pottery painting last time, I suggested we gave it a go & it went down very well. It also gave me a chance to paint a mug to match my coasters (made on the last Hen do). The background is a little patchy in places, but I’m quite happy with it overall.

pottery painting

Now for catching up with some abandoned knitting projects & finishing a few special projects.

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

