Basket Making

29 Aug

As I mentioned in my previous blog post I’ve been wanted to learn how to make a basket for quite some time. I’ve always been impressed with their shape and structure as well as the fact that they are robust functional structures, created from natural materials.

Willow all prepared

Willow all prepared

The interior of the lovely Admaston Village Hall, a great venue of basket making

The interior of the lovely Admaston Village Hall, a great venue of basket making

A few friends and I arranged a basket making day at Blithfield Williowcrafts our teacher Eddie was very patient & friendly and made the day feel really relaxed. We had a great time & I was thrilled to go away with a completed basket. I’m still not entirely sure what I’m going to use my Basket for, I think there are a few too many sticky out bit to store yarn in it without some form of lining, however I am currently enjoying just having it sat in the lounge where it has already been admired by visitors and it smells great.

The various stages of my basket progress

The various stages of my basket progress

Lisa & Clare hard at work & a wonderful display of baskets behind them.

Lisa & Clare hard at work & a wonderful display of baskets behind them.

A close up of my basket starting to take shape

A close up of my basket starting to take shape

Sophie snipping off her excess ends...the final stage!

Sophie snipping off her excess ends…the final stage!

 

My finished basket

My finished basket

Not only did I have a completed basket to take home with me, I also had a helping hand in fixing the handle on my Grandma’s basket I inherited (I say helping hand…I did end up just watching) Eddie did a great little fix for me & I really appreciate it, even though having had a go at basket making now I can see it wasn’t such a great basket to begin with – but I don’t mind, it is now rescued & I will definitely use it, without fear of it breaking!

Everyone hard at work - we took the basket making outside to make the most of the nice weather & all the space!

Everyone hard at work – we took the basket making outside to make the most of the nice weather & all the space!

The exterior of the village hall was just as nice as the outside - not sure if the curved roof tiles are visible.

The exterior of the village hall was just as nice as the inside – look at the curved roof tiles!

I’m really keen to have another go (before I forget everything I’ve learnt) and possibly make something a little more adventurous.
It might have a wait a little while as much as I love having a go at so many different things I should concentrate on maybe just 2 or 3 things at once as oppose to 4 or 5 *eye roll*! I just can’t help myself!

If anyone is reading this and thinking about trying basket making or you’re just interested I would highly recommend checking out Blithfield Willow Crafts website, if only to look at all the gallery of wonderful willow items, it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

