Baking on a gloomy day

23 Jan

It really has been a grey and slightly unpredictable day today, from out of nowhere hail to blue skies and back to pouring rain, the latter of which I got caught in on my way home from work, so what better way to cheer up a miserable evening than with a bit of baking.

Baking plain buns
I went for a very straight forward small plain bun, and for the topping I thought I’d make them extra cheerful with bright pink tropical icing and sugar strands. I made the icing with icing sugar mixed tropical smoothie (with a drop of pink food colouring) – nice and simple as well as being my favourite kind of topping, I don’t like butter icing (I just don’t like butter at all) but I love sweet buns!

Tropical cheery bright buns
Delightful – how do you cheer up a gloomy evening?

3 Responses to “Baking on a gloomy day”

  1. sophiebowns January 23, 2014 at 9:25 pm #

    These will brighten up your day 🙂

    Like

    • nettynot January 23, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

      They certainly have, went down very well with a big cup of tea! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

