Trying something new!

25 Jan

I came home from work this evening to dinner already in the oven – brilliant! So while waiting for the oven to beep, ready with homemade cheese & herb chicken Kiev’s (yum!) I started flicking through my copy of crafty I picked the other day. One article caught my eye, something I’ve not tried before…needle weaving.

Crafty Magazine

I have done various bits of embroidery before but I haven’t created woven textures so thought I would give it a go this evening! I certainly have plenty of embroidery threads, that I have accumulated over many years as well as inheriting loads from my Gran!
Embroidery Threads
Sewing threads
Muddled threads

This is my result of doodling with thread, I particularly love the whipped spider web, but really I just enjoyed experimenting a bit, which I rarely do these days, my examples are far from perfect but it’s good to have a play and it has sparked a few potential new ideas.

My sample needle weaving
I’ve also been playing with InstagramΒ this week, which I’ve used for the photo effects in this post, but I’m also starting to enjoy browsing on it more, which I’ve never really done before this week – though I still don’t love it quite as much as pinterestΒ – that’s still my fave.

 

2 Responses to “Trying something new!”

  1. roma1912 January 26, 2014 at 5:51 pm #

    I’m sooo impressed by your whipped spider web πŸ˜€

    Like

    • nettynot January 26, 2014 at 6:00 pm #

      Thank you, I enjoyed that one & it looks more complicated than it is (which is always nice).
      I can thing of lots of lovely uses for it too – can’t wait to experiment further!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

