Sunday Summary

26 Jan

Last Sunday, one week ago, I started writing a blog post, my first of the new year and a few weeks since my previous post. It took me a little while to back into the flow of writing, so I made a little promise to myself that I would write a little more regularly. Well that post quickly became very long so without wanting to bore people with my mammoth post I decided to split it in two, posting the second part on the following day.

I really enjoyed putting my blog posts together but I also started doubting whether I would keep up the momentum of blogging regularly. So I set myself a little personal challenge of writing a blog a day for a whole week. I purposely didn’t publicize the fact I was doing it as that just adds the pressure on, we’re all too good at putting unnecessary pressure on ourselves, and blogging is supposed to be enjoyable, I didn’t want it to feel like homework. However I have managed with relative ease to write a blog a day this being my eighth in a row! I suppose I did wonder mid week whether I would run out of interesting things to write about. However every day I create something or stumble upon something inspiring, so I surprised myself with the variety of content too.

Chip in a Basket

Today I also tried to convince Chip to sit in my handmade basket by placing one of her much loved cushions in it. Hee he – small steps!

Today inevitably I have been thinking about my little challenge to myself and whether it has been worth it and it most definitely has. I feel a little more confident in my writing, and hopefully won’t hesitate so much in future when I may not feel an idea of project it blog worthy and just go for it.

The icing on the cake for my this week was a message I received yesterday from my friend Lynsey,  a fellow blogger – The diary of a novice crafter.

Last Tuesday at Knit in Notts, Lynsey mentioned she’d read my latest posts so I went on to tell her about getting myself back into blogging, having not done it for a little while, by attempting a blog a day, she’d also being experiencing a lull in her blogging mojo. However that evening inspired by the discussions of new knitting projects and alike, Lynsey started writing and published a blog there and then, I was impressed with her speed and the fact she didn’t let distractions get the better of her (which I frequently do) and still kept up with the conversation. This is the message Lynsey sent to me yesterday “Hi Steph, you’ve probably noticed that I have stolen your idea of a blog a day. Just wanted to say Thank you because I am enjoying again….” You can read Lynsey’s blog here thediaryofanovicecrafter.blogspot.co.uk.
I know it sounds cheesy and probably a bit clichéd to many an experienced blogger, but Lynsey’s message made it all worthwhile, having inspired a fellow blogger to also give themselves a little challenge.

Talking of cheese I off to demolish my slightly unconventional Sunday dinner - puff pastry tart! Mmm

Talking of cheese I off to demolish my slightly unconventional Sunday dinner – puff pastry tart! Mmm

How do you challenge yourself?

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

