New Dress – Altered Image

19 Feb

The past few time I’ve been shopping for new clothes I’ve been quite disappointed and returned home empty handed. I’m not sure if it’s the fashions, my shape, my age or my taste but either I can’t find anything I like or when I try items on they simply don’t look good. I find myself (on countless occasions) stating I should make more of my own clothes, which I endeavour to do. However while running some errands in town today I took a short cut through H&M and something caught my eye, some lovely fabric!

Fabric
The fabric belonged to a very simple shirt dress, only two left, neither in my size (both too large), in spite of this I decided to try the smaller of the two dresses on. It wasn’t too bad, it fitted on the shoulders which I figured was the important bit and I could always adjust the length or waist myself and worst case scenario I could use the fabric to make something else. So without much more thought I bought it!

New Dress

Once I got home I slipped the dress onto my dressmakers form and fastened the tie so I could have a proper look at it. I could see straight away the tie was too low on the dress which made it look quite frumpy on top, partly due to it being too large and also because I have a short body, therefore a higher waist than most folk.

Dress Tie

Fortunately the tie was attached to the dress with an additional piece of fabric sewn on, creating a tube for the tie to be threaded through, so it was fairly straight forward to remove – with 40 minutes of un-picking. I thought about re-attaching the fabric tube in a more appropriate position for my waist, but quickly changed my mind. A belt would do the job just as effectively with far less hassle, and I had just the belt in mind.

Once the tie tube was detached I gave the dress a good ironing and redressed my dressmakers form and added my belt, I do like a splash of contrast colour.

Chip was fascinated by what was going on.

Chip was fascinated by what was going on.

Altered dress - with belt

Hanging on a mannequin doesn’t do it much justice, neither does the fading light and the camera flash – it looked much better actually on me – whooh!

I’m rather pleased with the result, I’m glad I didn’t just abandoned the over sized dress but thought for a brief moment about how I could make it work – such a simple alteration and now I have something I’m happy to wear that suits me.

What items have you bought and altered?

2 Responses to “New Dress – Altered Image”

  1. roma1912 February 19, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

    What a beauty you have done yourself proud 🙂

    Like

  2. Scrapin2012 March 4, 2014 at 6:32 am #

    I think that you did a great job on the dress

    Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

