Colour Affection

24 Feb

I mentioned in a blog post in January that I was very close to finishing my Colour Affection shawl. I have now finished – I actually finished and blocked it last week, however I’ve only just had the chance to photograph it. I was very disciplined and didn’t knit anything else until it was finished. I have already got going on my jumper though and am enjoying how fast it is knitting up.

I had admired this pattern and the finished results of other knitters for a while and after seeing this blog post by Move Eat Create, quite some time ago (I love the colours used) I decided it was definitely going into my Ravelry queue.

Colour Affection close up
I chose colours I knew would go with the colours I wear, even though I was tempted to go down the bright and bold route. You can see what the exact yarns I went for in my ravelry projects.

I have to admit that my relationship with this shawl have been a little up and down at times. I think I’m suffering the same kind of disappointment that you get when someone tells you a film is amazing and you watch it eagerly anticipating great things and it turns out it was just ‘ok’. This is how I feel about this pattern, I expected wonderful things – after all over 11,000 ravelry members have knitted it, bit I think it may have just been over hyped for me.

Colour Affection - blocking

Stretched out it is pretty long, it hung over the end of a double bed!

Don’t get me wrong though – I think the pattern is rather clever and I love the overall effect, I just found the long rows towards the end a little tedious. I was very conscious of keeping my colour changes at the end of the rows quite loose, however I had a horrible sinking feeling after I cast off that it was all too tight and curly. However a good blocking sorted it out; I stretched the edge of the shawl until I thought it might break, then pinned the life out of it and left  it to dry.

finished colour affection

I must admit I strayed from the pattern slightly (& unintentionally). On the short row section I miss-read “k 3 past the previous wrapped st” and ended up including the wrapped stitch in the 3 stitches which mean I ended up knitting more short row than were intended, I realised when re-reading the pattern (after the project was hibernated so I could knit my Mum’s Christmas jumper) but at that point I’d done too many rows wrongly that I decided to continue as I had been doing. I also kept loosing track of the number of the double increase rows while doing the short rows, so I just abandoned them, it made keeping track of the pattern far easier and neither error had a detrimental effect on the finished article so it was alright in the end.

I've found I tend to wear it more like a scarf. I knotting it in 4ply so I can get away with this with out it being too bulky.

I’ve found I tend to wear it more like a scarf. I knitted it in 4ply so I can get away with wearing like this with out it being too bulky.

Overall I’m quite pleased with the end result despite my hic-ups. Now I can get stuck back into my jumper… it’s not grown much so far, but I’ve only been knitting once a week at knit group in the last couple of weeks as I’ve been busy with (what feels like) a million other projects.

I hope to be able to have it finisihed and wearing it before the end of winter....we'll see!

I hope to be able to have it finished and wearing it before the end of winter….we’ll see!

8 Responses to “Colour Affection”

  1. roma1912 February 24, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

    It’s beautiful, nifty idea of using 4 ply enjoy wearing your masterpiece

    Like

    • nettynot February 24, 2014 at 9:42 pm #

      Thank you, it is the perfect project for a few left over balls of 4ply-I already had the blue so just picked up new colours to go with it!

      Like

  2. Move Eat Create February 24, 2014 at 6:31 pm #

    It looks great! And, I love your color choices, as well. So versatile.

    Like

    • nettynot February 24, 2014 at 9:44 pm #

      Thanks, I’m enjoying wearing it, I hope yours is still keeping you warm 🙂

      Like

  3. Stitchingyesteryear March 21, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

    You’ve knitted a really beautiful shawl here – especially when you see it draped it’s a treasure.

    Like

    • nettynot March 21, 2014 at 11:11 pm #

      Thank you, I’ve been wearing it loads, it’s so cosy!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Completed Brick Jumper | Nettynot Craft - February 6, 2015

    […] The first mention of the jumper, based on a pattern called Brick on Ravelry, was back in January last year where having started the jumper which I’d decided to knit with a lovely deep red colour just looked too Christmasy, so I ripped it back and decided to knit it with cream instead. I got well on the way with the jumper and soon discovered that as I had introduced a little fairisle into my stripes I had made the overall jumper a bit too sung around the arm pits, so I ripped it back again so that I could add a few more rows and increases before separating the sleeves and body. This is why I LOVE knitting top down jumpers in the round, I can try it on as I go and rectify my mistakes before I go too far. Although the problem was easy to rectify, I was a little fed up  having already ripped it back twice, the Jumper was hibernate for several months. It gave me a chance to finish my colour affection shawl. […]

    Like

  2. Yarndale 2015 | Nettynot Craft - October 4, 2015

    […] creations and I was very flattered by the many compliments I got on both my Hedgehog Jumper and my colour affection shawl and how many of those people were impressed to discover the jumper was my first 4ply, first […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

