Quilting an Heirloom

24 Mar

There has been a major project under wraps in my house recently, which for the past few months has absorbed my time and took over the living room. This endeavor is the beginning of the end of a family heirloom.

To put into context I have always been interested in sewing and making things. I have a vague memory of trying to make an outfit for a Barbie with a scrap of fabric and some elastic – it wasn’t terribly successful but it sparked something an interest in sewing and I’ve continued to dabble ever since. Some projects have been successful, others not so – but I’ve learnt a lot along the way.

I have also become a fabric magpie too – I have SO much fabric, it is a little ridiculous, some pieces I’ve bought on a whim because I loved a pattern, other bits were bargains from remnant sales, car boots and vintage fairs. A lot I have acquired over many years, from friends, my Gran and a few select bits from my Mum.

The stars starting to stack up.

The stars starting to stack up.

Amongst the bits I found in my Mum’s stash of fabric was be the beginnings of an English paper piece patchwork item. There were lots of diamond shapes, some already sewn into stars. I first discovered them about 15 years ago rummaging through my mum’s wonderful trunk of crafty items.

Along with the colourful stars were loads of navy ones - I made the assumption they were intended to fill the gaps between the stars and went for it.

Along with the colourful stars were loads of navy ones – I made the assumption they were intended to fill the gaps between the stars and went for it.

Having collected up all the diamonds and stars they sat amongst my collection of fabric with the vague idea of continuing with the stars and turning them into a quilt some day. They stayed in my collection until several years ago, when a few of my knitting friends and I decided to also have regular sewing meet ups. I thought this would give me the perfect opportunity to continue with it.

The coming together of all the diamonds.

The coming together of all the diamonds.

For the past few years I’ve been making slow and steady progress until I decided about a year ago that it’d be a lovely idea to finish the quilt and give it back to my mum as a gift on her 60th Birthday this year, which happened last weekend.

The finished patchwork top - painstakingly all hand sewn - but well worth it - this photo makes be very happy!

The finished patchwork top – painstakingly all hand sewn – but well worth it – this photo makes be very happy!

I have been dying to write a blog post or two about the quilt as I’ve been making it but I also wanted it to be a surprise and my Mum reads my blog (Ello Mum)! So now I can shout all about it! I did underestimate the amount of time that it would take it complete and even thought I have spent almost all my spare time working on it for two months I didn’t complete it in time. However I wrapped it up in its unfinished state and gave to her. It has almost become a trademark of mine to give my family unfinished gift and it did raise a laugh as I announced it wasn’t finished yet.

The home stretch - I just have to finish the actual quilting - which fortunately I am able to do on my sewing machine, then edging.

The home stretch – I just have to finish the actual quilting – which fortunately I am able to do on my sewing machine, then edging.

I think I will enjoy working on it more now, without a looming deadline. It will also give me a chance to improve my quilting skills (I’m not convinced what I’ve done so far it that great). I much prefer the patchwork part of a quilt but I appreciate the overall effect of a finished quilt so I know it will be worth all the effort.

10 Responses to “Quilting an Heirloom”

  1. sindhoooo March 25, 2014 at 7:05 am #

    Brilliant! It is really worth it!

    Like

  2. fallfromgrace349 March 25, 2014 at 1:05 pm #

    will definately become an heirloom! 🙂

    Like

  3. lucyannluna March 25, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    Beutiful

    Like

  4. roma1912 March 25, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

    How gorgeous, well worth every minuet you spent on it 🙂

    Like

  5. mosaicthinking March 26, 2014 at 10:17 am #

    Such a lovely quilt almost begs to be hand quilted. Not that I’d ever consider doing that myself. Tried hand quilting, didn’t like it. Congratulations on what you’ve accomplished.

    Like

    • nettynot March 26, 2014 at 4:08 pm #

      Yes! I’ve been thinking it would be so much better to hand quilt it – it’s not too late to start doing it, however it might take another 40 years to get it finished! 😛

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Patchwork Cushion | - February 1, 2015

    […] friend Steph recently completed a beautiful paper-pieced quilt and I felt inspired to have a go. I want to do a double bed sized hexi quilt – which will […]

    Like

  2. Re-loved Dresses | Nettynot Craft - April 22, 2015

    […] the cuffs back on. I also chopped a good few inches off the bottom, (some of which made it into my Mum’s quilt). I was pleased with the result, however there was still something not quite right with the fit or […]

    Like

  3. Patchwork Cushion | Nettynot Craft - August 9, 2017

    […] like English paper piecing, which I hadn’t done for while after finishing the mammoth task of my Mum’s quilt. However I thought this would be a little project. I sketched a few ideas quite small to begin with […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

