Mood Scarf-along

27 Mar

The very talented and lovely Jem Weston has launched a knit along mood Scarf over on her blog. Practically everyone at Knit in Notts is joining in with the mood scarf with lots of variations being discussed. Considering it starts on Sunday I thought I better get my yarn together, I had intended to use some of my stash yarn, but I didn’t have 3 different yarns in appropriate colours or weights (such a shame – I just had to buy more), so I popped in to Knit Nottingham after work this evening and picked up 3 new great colours.

Yarn for Jem Weston's Scarf-along Nettynot blog

I’ve stolen Jem’s colour interpretations here (I’m sure she won’t mind)!
All my yarn is Cottonsoft by King Cole DK the colours are:
Turquoise (Jade) = Happy, excited, positive.
Grey (Silver) = Calm, content, okay.
Berry (Wine) = Sad, angry, upset, worried.

I’m looking forward to getting started, though I am slightly concerned I’m going to end up just knitting my scarf into a pretty pattern instead of going with my true mood, however I’m going to give it a good go. I can’t wait to see how different everyone’s scarves are going to look, I’ve already seen some of the colour combinations as Jem has shared them on her facebook page and I know that some are being crocheted and I love Jem’s idea of doing an asymmetric scarf. I’m going to make mine into a snood in moss stitch so my stripes a will hopefully blend into one another slightly.

Why not join in yourself, you can find Jem’s blog post introducing the knitting along here and keep up with the progress over on her facebook page here.

13 Responses to “Mood Scarf-along”

  1. roma1912 March 27, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

    I love the colour combo 🙂

    Like

  2. loveyesterdays March 28, 2014 at 1:25 am #

    What a fun knit-a-long! Gotta stash dive to see if I have any appropriate colors!

    Like

    • nettynot April 1, 2014 at 6:36 am #

      Did you find good colours in your stash?

      Like

      • loveyesterdays April 1, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

        Well, yes and no. Good colors that work together, but they are not all the same weight! I am gonna have to rethink the color thing!

        Like

  3. loveyesterdays April 3, 2014 at 11:36 am #

    Good news! I actually found three same weight/same type of yarns for this project! Since we are only three days in and the last three days I was in a super-good mood, I am going to attempt to catch up!

    Like

    • nettynot April 3, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

      Excellent news, it won’t take long to catch up! Mine has been a little bit of everything so far so at least it’s colourful, but I’m hoping for a few more happy turquoise days! 🙂

      Like

  4. loveyesterdays April 9, 2014 at 3:52 pm #

    Finally got my scarf started!
    http://loveyesterdays.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/mood-scarf/

    Like

    • nettynot April 9, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

      Just read your blog, you’ve made a great start! It’s looking lovely

      Like

      • loveyesterdays April 9, 2014 at 10:01 pm #

        Thank you for the inspiration!

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mood Scarf-along kick-off! | - March 30, 2014

    […] Steph at Nettynot. […]

    Like

  2. Knit in Public Week! | Nettynot Craft - June 19, 2014

    […] mood scarf, I’ve got a little behind recently but I’ve been taking note of my mood colour each day so […]

    Like

  3. Knitting Inspiration | Nettynot Craft - October 5, 2014

    […] Mood scarf knit along, has been abandoned for a while – I’m not looking forward to grafting the moss stitch ends […]

    Like

  4. Mood Cowl – Finished! | Nettynot Craft - November 2, 2014

    […] You can read more about my colour choice and the origins of this project by reading my previous blog post here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

