Foxy Cushion & a new small challenge!

30 Apr

A little while ago I stumbled across this gem of a fabric, called Dapper Foxes designed by Andie Hanna, on the Eclectic Maker website and as you can see they really are dapper! I showed my boyfriend who commented ‘My mum would like that’ and so I decided to buy some to create a cushion for her Birthday, I also had to buy a bit extra just for me, as you do!
Dappa foxes - Nettynot Blog
I’ve had the fabric sat waiting for me to create the cushion for a couple of months, so I’ve had plenty of time to ponder about what to do. Having recently created a cushion for my sister that was a bit of a challenge though I really enjoyed making it (you can see the post here). I thought I would set myself a new challenge and add a feature I’ve never done before – Piping!

I did a little research accumulating in a few links added to my “Sewing and Dressmaking” Pinterest board. I wrote myself a little shopping list and grabbed supplies. I had decided to have the fox fabric on the front of the cushion, plain grey (slightly darker fabric on the back) and black contrasting piping, to compliment the black details on the fox designs.  Since I’d decided on black piping, I thought I may have been able to buy it ready made, however my local Haberdashers (Pikes in Nottingham’s Victoria Market – which is brilliant) had plenty of piping (in various diameters) but none ready made, but I wasn’t disappointed, it meant I could set myself another small challenge of making my own piping!

The two really helpful tutorials I found were “How to Sew piping into a pillow” on the craftsy blog – seeing how to pin the piping to the fabric, snipping the corners and sewing all the layers together all looked straight forward and all the photos were very clear. I wasn’t such a fan of the way the piping was joined at the bottom on this tutorial, so a little further  internet searching turned up another great blog post, from Punkin Patterns, “How to sew in Piping”, this post showed a clever and neat way to join the piping together.

So off I set, I made my own bias binding first using some black polycotton and then sewed in the piping cord. I really didn’t have the best foot for my sewing machine but I managed the best I could with the standard foot and got as close as I could to the piping edge.
Making my own Bias binding for piping - Nettynot blog
I prepared the back of the cushion next, as I wanted to add in a zip across the centre. I cut one half of the back pieces a little longer than needed so that I could fold over and hide the zip with a small flap of fabric.

A flap for my zip - Nettynot blog

Concealed Zip - Nettynot blog
Then I pinned the piping to the fox fabric, sniping the edges on the corners to help the curve and joining the piping and sewed it in to place. Then I sewed the back to the front using my line of stitching on the front as a guide.

Pinning the piping - Nettynot blog

Once I stuffed the cushion inside the cover I was really impressed with the result, even if I do say so myself.

Finished Foxy Cushion - Nettynot blog
Usually when I tackle a project like this I do a lot of dawdling and over thinking and inevitably trying something for the first time it doesn’t go to plan. However this time I got myself well and truly stuck in and completed the whole thing in a few hours and surprised myself at how well everything came together –  I do love it when what you actually create is exactly what you had in your mind, Something I rarely do! I think I can credit that to the reassurance and confidence I gained from looking at tutorials mentioned above – they gave me that little shove in the right direction you so often need when embarking on a new challenge.
Foxy cushion - Nettynot Blog
What wonderful sewing tutorials have you discovered that have filled you with confidence and got your sewing machine buzzing?

4 Responses to “Foxy Cushion & a new small challenge!”

  1. fallfromgrace349 April 30, 2014 at 8:36 pm #

    the fabric is so funky! I love it 🙂

    Like

  2. catrinmanel April 30, 2014 at 10:11 pm #

    Fantastic job. Love the foxes!

    Like

  3. loveyesterdays May 2, 2014 at 11:50 am #

    Well, I don’t sew anymore (not by my choice, by my stupid hand’s choice!), but seeing your cute fox pillow makes me want to pull out my machine and dust it off!!! I loved all the photos, including the piping pinned to the fabric…it takes me back to sewing and how much I loved to do it 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dress Shirt to Skirt! | Nettynot Craft - May 4, 2014

    […] a while ago. I used the black fabric left over from making my bias binding for the piping on the foxy cushion to create a waist band, and stiffened the inside of the waist band with fusible […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

