Shirt Dress to Skirt!

4 May

I have struggled to find new clothes recently so I’ve been rummaging through my wardrobe, trying on items that I’ve not worn for a while and seeing if they still fit and are not worn out. I am a little bit of a hoarder at times especially when it comes to clothes. I’ve often regretted getting rid of items, when I’ve realised I could have alter it in some way to make an item fit or just use the fabric. One item that until recently I used to wear a lot is a shirt dress from H&M, I really liked the fitted top and flared out skirt, with pockets – I do love a skirt or dress with hidden pockets. The dress was quite a flattering fit, however is had become rather snug, so unable to part with it and not able to wear it I decided it was destined for the chop!

Sorry for the rubbish photo - I took it at night with no daylight & I hadn't ironed it :/

Sorry for the rubbish photo – I took it at night with no daylight & I hadn’t ironed it :/

I decided that if I cut the skirt part of the dress off and fitted a new waist band I could create something wearable. There was a little bit of gathering around the waist of the original dress so I was able to make a bigger skirt from it. I also had a pattern for a waist band from a skirt I made for myself a while ago. I used the black fabric left over from making my bias binding for the piping on the foxy cushion to create a waist band, and stiffened the inside of the waist band with fusible interfacing.

waistband - Nettynot Blog
The nice thing about creating a skirt from a button up dress…no zip – whooh! I did have to have a practice go at button holes on my sewing machine, having not needed to do one for years (and I usually try to avoid them) it was a good refresher. I don’t think the positioning was perfect but they were absolutely fine for what I needed and it all worked out well.

Buttons and waist Band - Nettynot Blog
Finished Skirt - nettynot Blog
I’m rather pleased with the results and I have already worn it and now I have another wearable item in my wardrobe – without spending any money! The only thing I might change now is the black buttons down the skirt, I would swap them for brighter red or blue ones to make them stand out more!

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/6201063/?claim=7vnyetnkxtf”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

2 Responses to “Shirt Dress to Skirt!”

  1. loveyesterdays May 7, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    Great transformation!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sewing Coco | Nettynot Craft - May 7, 2014

    […] is a little different. I am quite happy adjusting the odd item of clothing like turning an old dress into a skirt. But sewing an entire garment I’ve not done since my make a dress in a day workshop last year […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

