Tin-tacular

23 May

I have collected over the past few years several tins with the intention of decorating them to make attractive storage in my little craft room. I had thought I would do some sort of collage, but I just haven’t got around to in. So the tins have been used to store various crafting paraphernalia in their naked state for a long time, (8 years in the case of the cigar tin – a great sized tin I acquired while working in a pub as a student).

Making - tins makeover

A week or so ago I saw my friend, Emma’s blog post ‘Decorated Tin Cans’ and immediately thought of my sorry looking tins and it inspired me to give them the makeover they’ve been waiting for!

I read Emma’s blog post and acquired the appropriate supplies and last weekend gave my tins a good spraying. I must admit I’m not very good at the slow and steady approach of spraying at a sensible distance, I went for a faster and too close approach, so my tins are a little blotchy and bubbly in places but absolutely fine for my purpose (I would recommend going for the former approach if you have a go yourself).

Painting first coat - Nettynot Blog
I did have to give them two more light sprayings to completely cover them, particularly with the text on the cigar.

painted tins - Nettynot Blog

What I really liked about this little project was it gave me an excuse to buy some Washi tape, something until now I have somehow avoided. I love it, I found it very satisfying to use as it’s so easy and gives instant neat results.

Finished four Tins - Nettynot Blog

And they’re done! I’m really please with the end results (don’t look too closely) I think the tins look pretty good in their new clothes! Thanks Emma for the inspiration.

You can read Emma’s blog post here and visit her lovely website here!
Thank for reading!

4 Responses to “Tin-tacular”

  1. Emma May 23, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

    They look brilliant! And I love that Chip got in the background of one of the pictures!

    Like

  2. hasabnissharmila May 24, 2014 at 11:45 am #

    Please see my blog too for some more ideas with tins.

    Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

