Selfish Beading

23 Jul

I love a bit of beading, however working in a Bead Shop and teaching beading workshops, the last thing I want to do sometimes is play with more beads when I get home. However occasionally I see a project or inspiration strikes and before I know it I’m buying beads on my lunch break and spending my evening beading. This has happened to me on several occasions lately.

Bead & Button Magazine

These bracelets caught my eye on the front cover of an American beading magazine, Bead & Button, several months ago, it took me a while to getting around to making the bracelet, I was a little slow to start but soon got going. It was designed as a bangle, but I prefer bracelets so I beaded a toggle clasp into my bracelet.

Beaded Bracelet from Bead & Button - Nettynot Blog

What appealed to me about the design was that it was reversible, having two layers of beads I wanted to create a bracelet that when it was viewed from either side you couldn’t see any of the other side, so I chose a dominant colour and then two different complimentary colours, meaning the edge would all be the same colour. I rather like the result.

Peyote Triangle pendant - nettynot blogRecently when teaching a workshop for a reversible peyote triangle pendant, I thought about making my own smaller, monochrome pendant, so I did, this simple pendant lead me to thinking about my next endeavour…

Beaded Peyote Star - Nettynot Blog

 

The shapes you can make with peyote stitch and delica beads are very geometric and when weaving the beads together it’s easy for your mind to wander and wonder what happens if I just add a few more beads here or there and then you soon find your design has evolved. The funny thing is when I started bead weaving more seriously I though peyote stars seems so advance (which I guess they are for a complete novice) however I found I’d surprised myself as how easy I found it, as many things do when you know how. I went for colours and a pattern that I like so that I might wear the pendant, even though larger pendants aren’t my usual cup of tea. If you want some bright and bold patterns check out Pinterest and search for Peyote triangles – you’ll see some amazing creations.

My hard work isn’t going to waste, even if I don’t wear the star, as I shall be entering my bracelet and star into the Lunesdale agricultural show’s home industries competition, which you’ll hear more about later. In the mean time I need to figure out an appropriate way to hang and display my star pendant.

6 Responses to “Selfish Beading”

  1. sindhoooo July 24, 2014 at 11:48 am #

    Looks wonderful!

    Like

  2. Emma July 24, 2014 at 5:07 pm #

    Oooh I much prefer your colour choice! Loving the toggle clasp too 🙂

    Like

    • nettynot July 24, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

      Thanks Emma, so many beaded items look so different depending on colour, just means there’s endless combinations! 🙂

      Like

  3. Hana June 3, 2015 at 7:01 pm #

    I can think of a perfect thing to do with the star!

    It’s amazing, you are very talented!

    -x-

    Like

  4. Flowers and marbles July 12, 2017 at 1:28 am #

    This star is a masterpiece ! I really don’t know how I found you. And I don’t know the rules. But if you were to make one of these extra, I would buy it in a heart beat! Thank you !

    Like

    • nettynot July 24, 2017 at 12:57 pm #

      Hello, sorry for the late response (holidays). Thank you for your kind comments. I have this star just on display in my craft room, I loved making it, but don’t wear it. I would be happy to sell it, I feel it’s a shame that it isn’t worn! If you are interested please do feel free to email me directly at nettynot@hotmail.com
      Many thanks, Steph

      Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

