A Colourful Birthday

10 Aug

It was inevitable and last week it happened….. I turned 30 – eek!  I had a great time, celebrations made it across 2 weeks – well why not?

30th Birthday Card made by Jem Weston - Nettynot Blog

Given that my small family are spread about the country, I gathered them up for lunch and a potter around Chatsworth gardens on a lovely Sunny Sunday afternoon – the gardens were a colourful delight!

Chatsworth Gardens - Nettynot Blog

I have always wanted to do a Murder Mystery and decided my birthday would be the perfect opportunity. So having looked at several options I decided hosting it at home and getting everyone to dress up from the 80’s would make my day! It did! Everyone made so much effort and I was thrilled. I also rather enjoyed making 80’s decorations and biscuits (yes, they’re rubik’s cube biscuits, and yes, they took ages – but worth it)!

80's Murder Mystery - Nettynot Blog

My wonderful crafty friends got me a fantastic present! They all chipped in and got me a place on the Amy Butler Colour story workshop held at the NEC as the Festival of Quilts was getting set up! It was a great day, I went along with my good friend Jem Weston and had a fun and relaxed day cutting and sticking bits of paper and fabric creating our own unique colour boards. (You can read Jem’s blog post about the workshop here).
  Jem, Amy Butler and I - Nettynot BlogMy Colour Story - Amy Butler - Nettynot Blog

I love Amy Butler’s bright vibrant patterns, so it was fascinating hearing all about her design process and where her colour inspiration comes from and how she creates her own colour collages to inform her new collections. Her latest collection called ‘Glow’ is out in the UK very soon, it was great to get a close up look on the day. My favourite fabric from the collection reminds me a little of the 80’s – in a good way – bright and bold!
Amy Butler - Glow collection - Nettynot Blog

What made my day later in the week was Amy’s Instagram image from our workshop day featuring me and a small section of my collage – slightly over excited – eeep!!!
Amy Butler's Photo CollageYou can follow Amy on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

