Festival of Quilts

11 Aug

I have been to the festival of quilts, held annually at the NEC, before but I haven’t been for several years. I wanted to go this year and my wonderful birthday gift from my friend, (you can read my previous post about it here), came with a free ticket to the festival – perfect! So yesterday off I went with my friends Rebecka and Jem to spend the day immersed in a glorious world of fabric.  

I had a small shopping list with me, however by far the most interesting part of the show are the very impressive quilts on display. I managed to take 97 photos of quilts, eep! I have picked out my favourites to share with you, I hope you find them as inspiring as I did.

I’m afraid I didn’t get the details of each quilt, however more information and galleries can be found on the shows website http://www.thefestivalofquilts.co.uk/
Festival of Quilts 1 - Nettynot BlogFestival of Quilts 2 - Nettynot BlogFestival of quilts 3 - Nettynot BlogFestival of quilts 8 - Nettynot BlogThis quilt by Claudia Pfeil called Fire and Ice is rather spectacular – the photos don’t do it justice. We were lucky enough to have a steward lift up and show us the reverse of the quilt, which was just as interesting.  


Festival of quilts 6 - Nettynot Blog

Festival of Quilts 4 - Nettynot Blog

Festival of quilts 10 - Nettynot Blog

Although a much smaller quilt than most on display, this one was one of my favourites – I love the colour and it really makes me think of Arts & Crafts fabric. Amapolas by Isabel Munoz.
Festival of quilts 14 - Nettynot BlogGreat hexagons.
Festival of quilts 9 - Nettynot BlogThis bright quilt was attracting a lot of attention by Pamela Miller – Rainbow Wow.

Festival of quilts 13 - Nettynot BlogI love the close up texture of this seemingly subtle quilt.

Festival of quilts 11 - Nettynot Blog

More beautiful detail. 

Festival of quilts 12 - Nettynot Blog  A lovely bold design, Mosaico by Maria Isabel Navorro Isardo. 

Festival of Quilts 5 - Nettynot BlogI hope you’ve enjoyed my snippet of what what on view. I shall definately be making more effort to attend each year, it has been very inspiring!

 

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

