July in Film

27 Aug

The films I’ve seen at the cinema last month are…(I know it’s almost the end of August – it’s been a busy month – eek)!

July Films 2014

Chef (top left)
I lovely sweet film. It was all pretty heart warming an uplifting. I did have slight face ache from all the smiling though this film. Also got a few laughs, it had a good sound track and the father son relationship wasn’t overly soppy (but close to being).

Begin Again (top Middle)
Another feel good film for July. I really enjoyed this, quite an inventive happy film. Kiera Knightly has really grown on my in recent years and I thought she was great alongside the fantastic Mark Ruffalo. And it was a joy to see James Cordon. I thought this was going to be a little too pretentious for my liking, but I was pleasantly surprised at how genuinely in came across.

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (top Right)
This was a secret preview screening of this film (secret to the audience), something I’ve never done before. It was an interesting exercise as we ended up seeing something that we probably wouldn’t have chosen to watch. I did see the previous film but couldn’t really remember much about, but that didn’t really affect the viewing of this film. It kept me engaged while watching and the special effects were all fantastic but already the memory of it is fading considerably. I also have an issue with the tile, I doesn’t really roll off your tongue, maybe it’s too many ‘of the’s!

How to Train Your Dragon 2 (bottom left)
Lovely little film, I love the inventiveness of all the dragons, but having loved the first film for the very same reasons the second film didn’t deliver much more on that level, however the story line was great and the character development from the first was very well done. We watched this film at the cinema rather than on DVD and it was obvious that the few children in the showing enjoyed it and even cheered at some points so it obviously worked on all levels.

Boyhood (Bottom right)
I found this film far more engaging than I thought I would. I liked the whole idea behind the creation of the film, which is why I went to see it, the whole project really paid off. Not only are you seeing a boy grow up, but his whole family. I really liked how the segments of his life just roll into the next without any sort of narration I felt it all worked rather well together.

I also watched…
mud film still

Mud (2011)
I missed this at the cinema, so I recently saw it on DVD. I really liked the film as a whole; it had a nostalgic feel about it, and made me think of Stand By Me. I really liked how ageless it seemed, there appeared to be nothing specific that pinned it to a particular era, something that only occurred to me about half way through, I think it made me pay more attention to the characters and some of the films subtleties. Matthew McConaughey was great as were the two young actors, Tye Sheridan and Jacob Lofland, I’m sure we’ll be seeing lots more of them.

 

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

