August in Film

22 Sep

August was not as film filled as July, it’s usually the way it is in the middle on Summer!

August in Film 2014

Guardians of the Galaxy (top)
Great fun, perfect for a very wet Bank Holiday Monday. I do enjoy Marvel films, however I had started to wonder whether I was really going to enjoy yet another. I was wrong to doubt, I did very much enjoy this, there was a very healthy dollop of humor chucked in, both subtle and in your face comedy that I appreciated greatly. It wasn’t too predictable and it kept me engaged the whole way through. I was also left wondering, where’s Chris Pratt been hiding, he’s one of those vaguely familiar actors (and after looking him up on IMDB) I know I’ve seen him in several other films, but he really owned this film! I’m already looking forward to the next installment.

Million Dollar Arm (bottom)
I’m not a sports fan (of any sport really) but that did not matter, this was an easy to watch heart warming film with stunning scenery. I imagine for any one into cricket/baseball they might have found the ‘spelling it out loud’ moments, about the scoring etc, a bit obvious and cringy, however for me, just as I was wondering ‘what’s happening – what do they need to score?’ it got explained (not that it happened often).
I love it when the credits role and you’re shown the actual people the story is based on, so this film ended rather nicely for me.

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

