October in Film

16 Nov

What I saw at the cinema last month….
Films Oct 2014

Gone GirlTop left
A thrilling and creepy film. I’m so glad I saw this as soon as it came out and hadn’t hear much about it before hand. I have heard people talk about it and hear film reviews that don’t give spoilers as such but give away too much of the characters. I would say I enjoyed it, but I’m not sure enjoy is the best word, I thought it was a great film but probably wouldn’t  watch it again, but I am looking forward to reading the book.

What We Did On Our HolidayTop right
I did enjoy this film, it was heart warming in a not so conventional way. I’m not a huge fan of Out Numbered as I find it all a bit too contrived, however I didn’t get that sense with this film. I thought the ‘event’ was handled brilliantly and really liked the reaction of the younger cast members to the whole situation.

FuryBottom
I’m not one to go out of my way to see brutal war films, however I liked the premise of this story focusing on one aspect. The characters and the cast were great. I was completely taken in by them all and the true horrors faced my Norman in the film really came across and you could sense his reluctance and awkwardness as well as sort of willing him to get on with it. Another great film and a welcome change to the previously viewed films this month.

Other Films Oct 14

I also watched…

Saving Mr Banks (2013)Top
Having missed this at the cinema I’ve wanted to watch it for a while. It was pretty much what I expected and thought Emma Thompson was amazing. I did have a sense that Travers can’t really have been that bad surly…? So I was very pleased to hear some of the original audio in the credits which backed up the film nicely. I have obviously seen Mary Poppins, possibly a few times, so although I know the story line and familiar with some of the songs, I couldn’t help but think that this would be so much more appreciated by big fans of Mary Poppins, that said I did very much like it, just not as much as I expected.

A Time to Kill (1996)Bottom
I recorded this from TV a while ago, but only just got around  to watching it, I got quite gripped by the story, and although the film seems quite dated now, some 18 years later, it didn’t take anything away from the film. It also goes to show that Mathew McConaughey has always been great, he just got slightly sidelined by a few too many rom coms in the noughties.

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

