Small Quilt

27 Feb

A secret patchwork project, that I’ve mentioned in my previous blog post, can now be revealed. The squares I’ve been cutting and sewing together have been turned into a small quilt for a friends new baby. I have given new Mum and baby their gift so I can share the project without ruining the surprise. It went down very well and it’s being used as a colourful play mat.
Cutting fabricI have to admit that I’m not a huge fan of the quilting process but I love patch work, even simple squares are satisfying to cut out and sew together. I like the speed of machine sewing patchwork, but don’t get on terribly well with machine quilting and prefer the look of a hand stitched quilt, but just the thought of hand quilting large items is enough to put me off. So making a small a quilt for a baby suited me very well.

I like the preciseness of cutting the fabric and how, if it’s done well, it makes sewing the squares together so easy. I made my squares 6 1/2’’ (with a ¼’’ seam allowance) making it super easy to sew as I have a very handy patchwork foot for my machine with a ¼‘’ guide. I made the quilt 6 x 7 squares making the finished size approximately 36’’ x 42’’ (92cm x 107cm). Which is a size not quite so daunting to hand quilt.
Close up of patchwork - Nettynot BlogOnce I’d bought the fabric, which I’d been doing sporadically since my friend told us she was pregnant (and washed, dried and ironed it), I cut the squares one evening, arranged the order of them and sewed them together in an hour or so another evening. The following night I pinned all the layers together ready for quilting and then did the majority of the top stitching in one afternoon at sewing group while nattering away, drinking tea and eating too much cake. I finished the last bit of top stitching and turned over and stitched the edges in another afternoon.

Finished Quilt - Nettynot BlogNot Knowing what the sex of the baby would be and knowing Mum wouldn’t want a pale or wishy-washy coloured quilt, I started with the green fabric with little foxes, houses and hedgehogs on, which I thought was really cute, then picked other bright and bold colours to go with it.
Close up Quilt - Nettynot BlogQuilt corner - Nettynot BlogAll in all I was quite pleased with how quickly I managed to create the quilt, breaking it down into manageable chunks makes it so much more achievable. This project remained enjoyable the whole way through; some larger projects have a tendency to become chores when they take so much longer than anticipated. I wouldn’t hesitate to make another small quilt, I also discovered a wonderful notion on Pinterest of quilting as you go, which I feel would be a much better way to approach big project and something I may have to try one day.

One Response to “Small Quilt”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Get it Done February Finale | Nettynot Craft - March 4, 2015

    […] “get it done” blog post, this project deserved a whole post of it’s own which you can see here. I bought new fuses, not the most exciting purchase I know, but after having to pinch them out of […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

