Springing into Action

15 Apr

I just don’t know where the past month has gone, it only seems like a week ago that I was in the Lake District, but when I actually think about it I have achieved more than I thought I had. Spring and its longer days and lovely sunshine seem to be doing me some good.

Blaithin Sleeves - Nettynot BlogI’ve made some progress with my Bláithín Cardigan. I’m still managing to shock a few knitters at knit club by explaining what steeking is, however I’m not quite there yet. I have knitted the body up to the arm pits and it currently set to one side while I knit the sleeves, I decided to figure out how to knit my sleeves both at the same time using magic loop on a long cable, once I got my head around the idea and knitted the first row I was away! I hate it when you finish a sleeve, only to have to knit a whole other one, this way I won’t have that dreaded feeling, I am also ensuring that I do all my increased on the same row of each sleeve – brilliant!

10 Stitch Blanket  - Nettynot BlogI mentioned back in February that I’d collected up lots of my stash yarn ready to knit another blanket, well…. I started it. I just fancied getting started, admittedly I’ve not got very far, it is a film n a half’s worth of knitting (that’s an official unit of knitting time, right?). I’m using this 10 stitch Blanket pattern on Ravelry, and 5.5mm needles with doubled up DK and the odd bit of Aran weight yarn. I’m enjoying it so far, it’s going to be a useful in between project and one I can just pick up and put down when other projects are too taxing (or I’m too tired to concentrate) I’m imagining it will very much be an on going project for some time.
Succulents - Nettynot Blog

I’ve also been busy adding the odd finishing touch to my Bathroom (which is close to being entirely finished) I’ve added a few small succulents in matching pots to brighten up the window sill. There will be a future post about these as I intent to create a little something extra too.
Macrame Bracelet - Nettynot BlogI do love learning something new and recently I’ve tried two new things. I taught myself Macramé (I knew a little already) however I created my own little pattern to get going, I have a larger project in mind and wanted to build a little confidence first. I’m quite pleased with the results, it’s also a great way to add one of my many buttons into a piece of jewellery! I also went to a lamp shade making workshop, I will write a whole post about this little venture soon.

I’ve also done a fair bit of spring cleaning and sorting – cleared out my wardrobe, sent a bag to the charity shop and created a pile to clothes that might get chopped or adjusted. I also collected up all my unfinished sewing projects and I intend to finish at least a few of these soon.

One Response to “Springing into Action”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Macrame Bracelet | Nettynot Craft - June 3, 2015

    […] little while ago a had an experiment with Macramé which I mentioned in this previous blog post. I’d made a simple knotted bracelet introducing different sized beads. My long term intention was […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

