Macrame Bracelet

3 Jun

A little while ago a had an experiment with Macramé which I mentioned in this previous blog post. I’d made a simple knotted bracelet introducing different sized beads. My long term intention was to make a friend a bracelet for her birthday, after she’d commented on a macramé bracelet we’d seen at a show earlier this year. My macramé skills left a little to be desired, mainly down to a tension issue, hence needing  a practice project.
Macrame Bracelet - Nettynot BlogI have worn this bracelet quite a few times, but knew I needed to make the gift a bit more impressive. To pinterest I went in search of a little inspiration.

Macrame Inspiration - Brooch on Pinterest

I came across this picture of a brooch which triggered an idea in my mind. I’d already gathered and bought some beads and S-Lon cord for what I had in mind. To be honest, other than a bit of a practice and looking for inspiration, until I start making something I truly don’t know how things will turn out. Sometimes they work as I imagined and other times it’s a disaster – but a good way to learn.

I got started and played around with a few different bead combinations and then got stuck in. The knotting for this project it relatively simple, using forward and backward knots. Macramé is definitely made easier using a Macramé board and pins.

Macrame Board - Nettynot BlogMacrame bracelet growing - Nettynot Blog

I made the bracelet over a few evenings, I found it quite therapeutic and good to have a slight change from all the recent knitting.
Turquoise Macrame bracelet - Nettynot BlogHere’s the finished article, I’m really happy with how it turned out, and not too dissimilar to what I had imagined. I also love the texture that’s created on the back of the work.
Turquoise Macrame bracelet back - Nettynot BlogI made a few minor mistakes, which are hard to identify and I didn’t even notice until the very end, as they didn’t effect the pattern on the front I decided not to worry about them, it just makes it more unique!
Turquoise Macrame bracelet  front - Nettynot BlogFinding ways to start and finish macramé neatly is the biggest challenge, though using these little triangular connectors I thought made a nice feature. To finish the end of the bracelet I knotted the pairs of threads together; looping them though the connector creating a larks head knot.
Turquoise Macrame bracelet - knotted end - Nettynot BlogTo secure all the knots and ensure they wouldn’t come undone I used some hypo cement on each knot. I chose to add a toggle bar for the clasp, I think they look so much better than a trigger clasp (my usual go to clasp), and I find them much easier to do up single-handed.
Turquoise Macrame bracelet - toggle clasp - Nettynot BlogI have now given the finished bracelet to my friend for her birthday and it seemed to go down very well, even if a few extra jump ring are needed to prevent the loss of blood flow to her hand, but these things are easy to adjust.

Thanks for reading!

One Response to “Macrame Bracelet”

  1. Karen Chrisco October 6, 2016 at 4:01 am #

    I really love how you turned your original into this, but I really, really, love the original one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

