3 years of blogging and a little treat!

18 Jul

According to a little notification that popped up from WordPress it’s my 3rd anniversary of blogging!
Whooh, it has made me ponder about what my blog means to me!

I started the blog as a way of keeping track of things I’ve made, days pottering out n about and a way of sharing what I’m up to. Although I have been a little quiet on the blog lately, it never means I’m not doing anything creative, it usually means the boring bits of life have got in the way! I have several projects on the go. As an avid knitter, there is always 1 if not 2 or 3 knitting project on needles at all times. I’m surrounded by beads at work all day, which inevitably sparks new ideas so I’ll be playing with beads in the evening trying things out. I’ve also got back into dress making recently, however spending an evening tracing and cutting out a pattern doesn’t make for enthralling reading. Once one of these many projects in the pipe line is complete I can assure you there will be more blog posts to follow.

My recent fabric purchases, ready for some dress making!

My recent fabric purchases, ready for some dress making!

I have terrible habbit of spending far too much time on pinterest (which I know many creative’s can relate to), it is great (don’t get me wrong – I love it ) but I am staring to resent it a little too, I get overwhelmed some time by the the new ideas it sparks. Before social media if I had an idea for something to make, I would usually just get stuck right in and if I needed inspiration or needed to know more about a technique I’d consult a book, now I head to the internet and before I know it an hour has gone and I have a million more ideas rattling around in my head. For example, I am about to start sewing the Lilou dress from Tilly and the Buttons ‘Love at First Stitch’ book (the toile is already cut out waiting). So I thought I’d have a look at a few finished examples on Pinterest and read a few blog posts to see if there’s any useful tips. I find it helpful to see other people results and see whether they made any alterations, but I also got sucked in, before I knew it I found another dress making pattern for a vintage style skirt I want to make, I rearranged some of my pinterest boards and created a new ‘to do list’ board – eeek!! That’s valuable creative time gone!! I need to get more disciplined!

I’ve gone slightly off tangent. Other things I love about my blog is that it keeps me connected to friends and family I don’t see very often. My Mum reads my blog (thanks Mum) as does my sister (providing I put an update on facebook – thanks Jo). I got a warm fuzzy feeling when chatting to an old uni friend about something I made and she said, “Is that the one I saw on your blog” (Thanks Mariam)!  That’s not to mention the complete strangers who comment on posts with compliments and feedback – I don’t want to sound all cheesy but it is just like having an extended collection of supportive friends (thanks everyone).

Hebden Bridge - Black Pit Lock, Rochdale Canal.

Hebden Bridge – Black Pit Lock, Rochdale Canal.

Another reason I started writing a blog was as a result of being inspired my other peoples blogs, I often just dip in and out of blogs, but some I read regularly just because they’re a joy to read. I recently took myself off to Hebden Bridge for the day (a detour on route to the Lake District), partly having read lovely posts about it over on the Mathilde heart Manech blog. I love reading what Lisa’s has to say, it’s so well written and cheerful. Another elegantly written blog is Modflowers, I’d love to be just half as eloquent as this colourfully vintage slice of the web is.

Tea and lovely cake at Mooch cafe Hebden Bridge.

Tea and lovely cake at Mooch cafe Hebden Bridge.

I must admit I get self conscious about my writing, especially when comparing myself to others (which I know one shouldn’t). I’ve re-read old posts of mine (that I had checked at the time) but see glaringly obvious typos and blunders and cringe. I am dyslesic dysleix dyslexic (It has always frustrated me that this word is so hard to spell!) It struggled in school, but I muddled through, and doing Fine Art at university meant there wasn’t quite so much emphasis on written work, which was a relief at the time. But I never thought I’d be writing for fun and enjoying it. It’s so much easier to write about something you’re passionate about, it all comes so easily. I probably have a lot more convoluted way of writing than most (I’m assume), I write a long (rambly) draft in word, leave it a while (ideally a day) heavily edit it, leave it again and then edit all the typos and incorrect words then post and hope for the best. I would love to know if all the amazing writers are so good that they confidently write straight to their blog with just a cursory glance to check it over, or whether they deliberate, check and re-check their work too.

As much as I doubt my writing abilities and wonder whether I’m driving people mad with my far from perfect text, I do feel I’m getting better and that can’t be a bad thing – here is to improving my  English at age 30! I guess you’re never too old to learn or improve!

One think I’ve being trying to do lately is make my posts more concise – I know not everyone has time to read essays – oops! Well I can’t win them all, that’s a future challenge to overcome.

If you’re still reading now, thank you and as a treat I thought I’d share recipe with you! My Gran used to make this when my sister and I visited, it was always in a shallow baking tray covered with a layer of melted chocolate. It became a firm favourite and my Mum used to make batches of it for our birthday parties too. It’s now my go to quick and easy treat to make when going to friends and it always goes down well, I made this batch early to day ahead of games night this evening.
Rice crispie cakes - Nettynot BlogRice Crispy Cakes – Equal quantities of Marshmallows, toffee and butter (I do 200g for a party & 100g for a small gathering). Melt in a large pan, take off the heat and pour in rice crispies; pour in a bit at a time mixing well until it’s less gloopy and fairly consistence. Tip into a large tray press down firmly, leave to set and then cut it up – SO easy and very tasty.

Thanks for reading!
Steph X

8 Responses to “3 years of blogging and a little treat!”

  1. JaneyB July 19, 2015 at 8:04 am #

    Congratulations on your three year anniversary! My grandma used to make those rice crispy cakes too!

    Like

    • nettynot July 19, 2015 at 8:55 am #

      Thanks Jane! Only problem with the cakes is they’re a bit too moreish! 🙂

      Like

  2. Mariam July 19, 2015 at 12:19 pm #

    Haha thanks for the mention!

    I love reading and seeing the latest thing you are working on…. well actually many things is probably more accurate! Don’t get to see you as much as I’d like so in some ways feels like the Chitter chatter we might have if I saw you frequently of what you’ve been doing. So I love that it fills that gap in some way.

    I always think you are an inspiration in the way you always keep busy and use your time to be super productive – even in the smallest pocket of time available you use it. So while I don’t do much creative myself at the moment reading makes me realise what I could be doing.

    I signed up to get the blog on my emails so I never miss it 🙂 keep it up!

    And my mum always made Krispy cakes just like this – so simple and we loved them xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • nettynot July 19, 2015 at 1:05 pm #

      Thanks Mariam, that means a lot to me! Looking forward to seeing you in a few weeks! 🙂

      Like

  3. modflowers July 19, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

    Thanks for the lovely comment about my blog! (And yes, I do go over and deliberate, check and re-check posts before I publish them!)
    My mum made rice crispy cakes using melted mars bars…. mmmmmmmmm… Thanks for the reminder, I can feel a school holiday treat coming on!

    Liked by 1 person

    • nettynot July 19, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

      Thank you, that is some what comforting to hear! Yes, I’ve adapted the recipe to a Mars bar version for my veggitarian friends! Very tasty! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Emily July 20, 2015 at 9:03 pm #

    I like your blog; I think the important thing when writing is that your press yourself clearly, which you do, and make me want to read on, which you also do. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • nettynot July 20, 2015 at 10:20 pm #

      Thank Emily, that’s good to hear and lovely of you to say so! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

