CROSS pockets cardigan

9 Sep

Well I had hoped to be writing a blog post about my wonderful and FINISHED cross pockets cardigan, but the fact is, it’s not going well! I’ve got really fed up about it too, I really want it to be finished, it feels like I’ve been knitting it for so long. My friends Knit In Notts seem to be finishing things left right and centre since I cast this on, including Jem’s lovely Kaneshon Cardigan by Sarah Hatton and Eleanor and Toni’s onesies (aren’t they great), to name a few.

Knit Nottingham 5th Birthday - Nettynot BlogI know I don’t spend as much time as the others knitting, and it’s not a healthy thing to compare yourself to others, but honestly I’m just feeling jealous and frustrated. I have not finished anything that I’ve started yet this year and we’re in to September and that makes me a little sad. I had a disaster earlier this year with my Bláithín cardigan, which ended up being frogged and is now currently hibernating! This was due to me having unintentionally knitted almost the entire thing on the wrong sized needles *hand smacks forehead*! I will complete this someday, but I’m not ready to tackle it again yet.

Blaithin so far - Nettynot BlogThe beginning of Cross Pockets - Nettynot BlogI had been making good progress with the my Cross Packets cardigan, it’s constructed very cleverly and I was really enjoying learning new techniques. As a lot of processes were new to me I have followed the 8 page instructions to the T. But after the long I cord cast off, I decided to sew the pockets in place before knitting the sleeves, I was a little dubious as the inside of the pocket really didn’t look like it would fit and it didn’t, even pinning into place and sewing the top edge didn’t help, as you can see here, it looks baggy and awkward.

Odd cross pockets - nettynot blogSo now I’m left knowing I’m going to have to do some ripping back, urgh. I think the problem is that the lovely basket weave stitch on the edge of the pocket is quite firm and structured where as the moss stitch inside of the pockets it quite loose and the two aren’t matching up, despite having the same number of rows.

Cross pockets i cord cast off - nettynot blogI think what I’ll end up doing is ripping back the cast off I cord, and the decorative edging, so that the pocket front and inside are separated again and continue knitting the pocket front until the length matches up and just ignore how many rows there are. This seems like the sensible thing to do right? I think I’m also going to change the I cord Cast off, I will experiment first, but it is very time consuming and curls up a lot – I don’t want anything to detract from the lovely edging. So maybe just a simple straight forward cast off could work.

I need to discipline myself to ensure I finish this project before I start my next, as I’m very keen to cast on my Puffin jumper, for which I’ve had the yarn for, for a year or so. I might do something a little bit mad and set myself the challenge of completing the puffin in a month, just get myself back on track (and happier – I’m always happy when I’m being productive).

I also booked myself on to a knitting a workshop with the lovely Eleanor while I was at Knit Nottingham’s 5th Birthday party, I will be learning to do Entrelac knitting – something new and exciting to look forward to!
I apologise that this is not the most positive or up beat post, however writing about my knitting frustrations has helped alleviate the disappointment as well as give me a little perspective to how to solve the issues. Hopefully my next knitting related blog post will be full of finished items and accomplishments.

If anyone has any helpful suggestions, please share them with me.
Thanks for reading!

6 Responses to “CROSS pockets cardigan”

  1. anne long October 26, 2015 at 3:54 am #

    Having read your blog, I “swatched” many times and finally substituted Rosette Stitch from Walker’s Second Treasury. It is coming out beautifully; no need to fiddle the icord; doesn’t curl; and looks very similar to the original plait stitch. Thanks for posting your problems. I may encounter more but so far, so good.

    Like

    • nettynot October 26, 2015 at 7:19 am #

      Hi Anne, thanks for the suggestions. My cardigan is currently hibernating, but I will get get it finished one day. I did try blocking the outer pockets, but it didn’t make enough difference. So I will be re knitting the lower half, I’ll write up the progress, when I eventually pick it back up.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yarndale 2015 | Nettynot Craft - October 4, 2015

    […] item in less than a week (albeit a small item) was much needed after my last (slightly frustrated) blog post about things not going to plan. Jem chose colours she knew I’d like – my finished cowl will go […]

    Like

  2. Miette – A finished Project! | Nettynot Craft - December 31, 2015

    […] sign that I’ve been too busy, but that I had two garment fails/hiccups, which I have mentioned in previous post. I have done a few smaller projects in between, a panda hat for a friends baby and a lazy lace […]

    Like

  3. Complete Cross Pockets | Nettynot Craft - August 24, 2016

    […] until I got to the pockets. My initial issues which I wrote about back in September last year, (CROSS pockets) was that my pocket linings and front didn’t match up. Even the good blocking I gave it didn’t […]

    Like

  4. Green Vianne Cardigan | Nettynot Craft - September 7, 2016

    […] a year ago I was writing a blog about how frustrated I was about having not completed a knitted garment yet in 2015. How times have […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

