Complete Cross Pockets

24 Aug

I finished my cross pockets cardigan (about 2 months ago now), this a garment that has caused me much frustration during its creation. However I persevered and overcame the obstacles and have a wearable cardigan at the end, even if it isn’t perfect.

I loved the look of this pattern, simple in style and a few new techniques I’d not done before (the lovely edge texture) and I found the construction of the top part fascinating and rather clever (top down set in sleeves – knitted in one piece).

I really enjoyed knitted it and all was going well until I got to the pockets. My initial issues which I wrote about back in September last year, (CROSS pockets) was that my pocket linings and front didn’t match up. Even the good blocking I gave it didn’t help, so it was hibernated while I finished my Blaithin. Then at the beginning on April I thought it was about time I resurrected it and got it finished for summer. I’d had a while to ponder about what I would change (a good discussion at knit group helped) and when I thought about it, it was fairly obvious that the moss stitch lining would end up a different shape to the outer which was stocking stitch with a decorative border, so I ignored the instruction to keep increasing the amount of moss stitch and just did a border of 4 sts all along the ends, I also reduced the width of the lining on each side by several stitched (I think it was by 4 – casting on 12, but I annoyingly I didn’t make a note – doh!). I also did a lot more measuring and counting rows and decided to stitch the tops of the pockets in place and let the garment hang as It should before finishing the pocket fronts. This all helped. The lining and pockets match up much better than before.


Finished cross pockets - nettynot.jpg

However after wearing it a couple of times, I noticed the pockets had sagged a bit, but on reflection I think this is due to the fact I have knitted it using cotton bamboo, a lovely cool yarn (perfect for a summery cardigan) it also drapes very nicely which possibly wasn’t the best option for this particular pattern and by the looks of things on Ravelry lots of people have knitted it in much more woolly yarns which is probably more appropriate. That said I finished the cardigan back in June, I was aiming for WWKIP day on the 18th, however ended up finishing it the following week and I have already worn it LOADS, despite it sorry pockets, I still really like it. It was my aim to make a cardigan suitable for throwing on over anything in the summer and being light grey it goes with practically everything and it is nice to wear, it doesn’t feel heavy or too warm, it’s the perfect cool yarn to wear in the summer. I have since bunged it in the washing machine and reshaped it and it’s firmed up nicely.

Cross Pockets - ear bomb - nettynot blog

I wasn’t going to include this photo – it’s not great and I look a bit too serious, however I when I realised my cat Chip wanted in on the action too, it’s be rude not to use it!

More spesific information about the pattern, the designer, yarn and size the I knitted is on my Ravelry project, user name Nettynot.

Thanks for reading 🙂

3 Responses to “Complete Cross Pockets”

  1. epicyarns August 28, 2016 at 11:24 am #

    Gorgeous cardigan! 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Green Vianne Cardigan | Nettynot Craft - September 7, 2016

    […] a knitted garment yet in 2015. How times have changed! After already finishing Blaithin & cross pockets  (admittedly both started last year) I have just finished my Vianne cardigan and have made a good […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

