Puffin Jumper

17 May

It’s been quite a while since I cast on my Puffin jumper (by Kate Davies – from Colours of Shetland), in fact it was on the train to Edinburgh for The Edinburgh Yarn Festive in 2016 and I finished it several months ago in February, in time to wear on holiday to Edinburgh (though not to EYF this time).

Puffin Sweater by Kate Davies

Chevrons - Puffin - nettynot blog

I’ve probably already worn my puffin jumper more times than several of my other hand knitted garments, I love it. Though I did have a few issues to sort out along the way.

almost done - short sleeves - nettynot blog
Mostly the sleeve length, I have knitted Kate Davies patterns before and never had an issue with sleeves and neither did I think she had particularly short arms when I met her at EYF last year. However I knitted my sleeves to the required 42cm (needs checking) and joined them into my body to knit the yoke fully trusting that all will be fine. However once I was finished and tried on the jumper my sleeves were way too short.Β 

So I had a little breather from it, knitted some mitts and a hat and then came back to it. I decided since I was going to have to rip back my sleeves anyway that I might as well add some extra detail so I incorporated some of the colourful chevrons to the sleeves too, just 1 pattern repeat. I added a total of 7cm on to my overall sleeve length, however I could really could have done with 1cm more, as the chevrons take up some length, however that’s down to my personal preference as the sleeves don’t actually look short. That said I am very pleased with my finished jumper and I’m sure it will remain a firm favourite.

Puffin jumper blocking - nettynot blog

me in puffin jumper - nettynot blog
I obviously miss-calculated something when I bought the yarn as I have more that enough yarn left to knit the entire jumper again and having used truly rich wool (sock yarn really) it was a complete bargain to knit! Which in my eye is a bit of a bonus and means I have enough yarn to knit something else.

You can see my Puffin jumper project on Ravelry here!
Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Bobbin's Escape

Rippers up!

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.

livjaa

making things.

WhipStitchDesigns

Exploits of an art fair kid, all grown up.

sylkotwist

Just another WordPress.com site

Jane Makes

Stitched & Baked

Stitch and Purl

Welcome to the Stitch & Purl Blog. knitting, sewing, arts, crafts, cooking, baking, seasons, mamahood. love.

