Cute little Knits & a trip down memory lane!

14 Nov

Last Saturday night the lovely Jem Weston held a book launch for her first book published with Rowan. So as soon as I finished work I dashed across town to Tilt, a wonderful cocktail bar in Nottingham, to join in the celebrations. Tilt is the perfect venue for a party like this, the atmosphere was great & the settling perfect for all of Jem’s ‘cute little knits’ on show!

Collection Of Jem’s Cute Little Knits!

Close up of the knitted Hearts…trying to figure out which one I helped knit…

It has been an interesting journey to be a spectator, having shared some of the moments when Jem was excited about a new idea as well as a few frustrated when something hadn’t gone quite to plan, it’s so great to now see the finished printed book, it obviously it went down well, all 24 books brought along by Yarn sold in less than half an hour! I’m very impressed & proud of Jem & her achievement. I can’t wait for (hopefully) many more books!

Nottingham’s Knitting Celebrities. Jem Weston (left) & Eleanor Burke of Knit Nottingham (right)!

Close up of the Lovebirds Cushion

So after a not too late evening on Saturday, I was up at a reasonable hour Sunday morning, to head over to my Grandparents bungalow where I was meeting my parents & sister to retrieve valuable & sentimental items from their home before it is sold. Although we were supposed to be collecting up my Gran’s vast collections of handmade Embroidery and textile work (for which another blog will be dedicated to), we got massively side tracked by some fantastic photos we discovered, having never seen them before! I’m sure my little sister will not appreciate this, but I think she looks ever so sweet!

What a great combo – dresses & wellies! (I’m in the red ones)!

I love this! I think we thought we were very grown up with Gran’s hats & bags!
I love my sisters cheeky chops in this photo!

 

One Response to “Cute little Knits & a trip down memory lane!”

  1. moveeatcreate November 15, 2012 at 3:43 am #

    I just ordered this book! There are so many things in it that I can’t wait to knit. It’s fantastic work!

    Like

Leave a comment

Art Of Inclusion

A Bristol project looking at how to make the arts more inclusive. Funded by Bristol City Council

Own Your Content

Own Your Content is a campaign from WordPress.com & CreativeMornings, encouraging creatives to own their content, platform, and the future of their work.

Create at Oakleigh

Our home renovation journey and all the creations made along the way. Lots of crochet projects and cakes and bakes from my kitchen.

CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Bead Mechanics

Geometric shapes made out of beads!

makeandfable.com/

Make & Fable creates fun and colourful macrame craft kits and patternse and host of creative workshops. Creativity you can wear, make and experience!

Knitigating Circumstances

Because knitting is excuse enough

Boys and Chicken's Sewing Adventure

Previously Boys and Chickens, I have created a new blog to share my sewing adventure as 2018 is they year I plan to teach myself to sew! There will also be bits of crochet and cooking too.

Clotho & Frigg

sewing and design studio

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.