Appliqué Bunny Bag

12 Feb

I like to give my friends handmade gifts, but when they’re all very creative and crafty themselves  it can be tricky to think of original and personal gifts. So I had the idea before Christmas to make personalised tote bags – straight forward and practical. I have a habit of over complicating things; I initially thought I would make the basic bag myself as well as decorating them however trying to keep things simple I actually decided to buy some plain ready-made bags (it did feel a little like cheating, but I have learnt the hard way – sometimes you have to make some short cuts to make things feasible, especially given how busy the run up to Christmas can be). 

I decided appliqué shapes and animals would work well, something that I’ve not done a lot of before, but I figured I had everything I needed to give it a go, bags, fabric, sewing machine, thread and fusible interfacing.

I made quite a few different designs to suit the different people. I made stars, cats, dinosaurs and giraffes for Christmas presents and recently for a friend’s birthday I made a bunny bag (she has two cute n fluffy bunnies herself) so it seemed very appropriate.

Bunny drawing ready for template
I like the drawing process; it’s always very sketchy before I actually cut out the design.

Bunny Templete
I roughly cut out the basic shape from interfacing, iron onto the back of the fabric, then draw the template out and cut out the fabric.

Cutting out the bunny using my template

I then positioned the bunny on the bag and ironed it into place.

Positioning on fabric

I did a basic zig-zag stitch all the way around the edge (it’s not the neatest close up – sorry – ears are tricky)!

bunny applique ears
applique bunny
Bunny button and stitching
I selected a complimentary button to go with my lovely Liberty print fabric and it was finished!

Finished bunny bag

I’ve liked making these for my friends they seem to have been received well and I enjoyed seeing one of my friends using it weekly for knitting group. I will definitely be making more!

6 Responses to “Appliqué Bunny Bag”

  1. fallfromgrace349 February 12, 2014 at 6:03 pm #

    I too love making gifts for my friends and family, I really like the bunny idea, looks really pretty.Im sure it will be greatly appreciated 🙂

    Like

    • nettynot February 12, 2014 at 6:10 pm #

      Thank you! I have given it to my friend and it went down very well – I had to wait to publish my post so I didn’t ruin the surprise. I’m already planning my next one 🙂

      Like

      • fallfromgrace349 February 12, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

        fantastic, glad it went down well. What are you planning to do next? 🙂

        Like

      • nettynot February 12, 2014 at 6:29 pm #

        I’m going to have a go at a similar idea, but on a cushion for a house warming gift, gives me more room to play with, which is always good.

        Like

      • fallfromgrace349 February 12, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

        Thats a good idea, revamped cushions are always lovely, I always seem to find dull ones lol 🙂

        Like

  2. roma1912 February 14, 2014 at 5:26 pm #

    As a purveyor of all things bunny you have my seal of approval 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Art Of Inclusion

A Bristol project looking at how to make the arts more inclusive. Funded by Bristol City Council

Own Your Content

Own Your Content is a campaign from WordPress.com & CreativeMornings, encouraging creatives to own their content, platform, and the future of their work.

Create at Oakleigh

Our home renovation journey and all the creations made along the way. Lots of crochet projects and cakes and bakes from my kitchen.

CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Bead Mechanics

Geometric shapes made out of beads!

makeandfable.com/

Make & Fable creates fun and colourful macrame craft kits and patternse and host of creative workshops. Creativity you can wear, make and experience!

Knitigating Circumstances

Because knitting is excuse enough

Boys and Chicken's Sewing Adventure

Previously Boys and Chickens, I have created a new blog to share my sewing adventure as 2018 is they year I plan to teach myself to sew! There will also be bits of crochet and cooking too.

Clotho & Frigg

sewing and design studio

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.