Full of Beans

30 Jan

A few years ago I discovered a pattern in an issue of my Mum’s homes and Antiques magazine for a Moroccan style patchwork pouf. I thought it could be the ideal project to use up some of my fabric stash, however in a true fabric hoarders style I bought a whole new bundle of fat quarters from a lovely online shop Ray Stitch. It was a while ago now (or should I say years ago), but I remember where I’d seeing the fabric, on an advert in Making magazine, there was just something a little 50’s kitsch about it and it came in lovely bright blues and reds. I had to have it!

ray stitch fat quarter

I picked out the fabrics with the most red, saving the blue pieces for another project, I added a few bits of red fabric from my stash in to the mix. The pouf was made in large segments sewn together with a zip on the bottom. The small patchwork pieces were first sewn together randomly then I trimmed them down to fit my segment template.

Patchwork
I thoroughly enjoyed making the pouf, I wish I had photographed the making stage, (I hadn’t started writing my blog at the time, so I wasn’t thinking about documenting the project).

lounge
The pouf (or beanbag) very soon became a permanent feature in the landscape of my lounge. My cat very much enjoyed it too, especially when it meant she could combine her favourite past times, sleeping and worshiping the radiator.

chip on the pouf

Content Chip, very cosy!

However letting your cat sleep on lovely handmade items does (very occasionally) have it’s down sides. When my lovely furry feline got a slight water infection she  accidently weed on it (Eeek), I was far from impressed and a little upset at the time, but I couldn’t blame her – it wasn’t her fault really and being poorly she was quickly forgiven.

Getting rid of the polystyrene beans that smelt of cat wee was not a pleasant job and consequently after giving the fabric a wash and pegging out it out to dry and air, it has sat in a sorry empty state for approximately six months. That is, until today!

Chip quite happy on another handmade creation - well it is near the radiator!

Chip quite happy on another handmade creation – well it is near the radiator!

I bought a new bag of polystyrene beans and a gave the fabric another good hand wash and dry and it is all nicely full of beans again, it’s as if it hadn’t been away.

Patchwork Pouf

2 Responses to “Full of Beans”

  1. tamyraptor January 30, 2014 at 10:17 pm #

    I love this! I made a handmade cushion just like your one when I was at school in England – I never do things like that anymore, I should give it another go!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Make 9 challenge 2021 | Nettynot Creates - January 24, 2021

    […] Bag Bed for Chip – Chip (my geriatric cat) commandeered a bean bag I made for myself many years ago – it’s well and truly her’s now. It has seen better days now, […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Art Of Inclusion

A Bristol project looking at how to make the arts more inclusive. Funded by Bristol City Council

Own Your Content

Own Your Content is a campaign from WordPress.com & CreativeMornings, encouraging creatives to own their content, platform, and the future of their work.

Create at Oakleigh

Our home renovation journey and all the creations made along the way. Lots of crochet projects and cakes and bakes from my kitchen.

CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Bead Mechanics

Geometric shapes made out of beads!

makeandfable.com/

Make & Fable creates fun and colourful macrame craft kits and patternse and host of creative workshops. Creativity you can wear, make and experience!

Knitigating Circumstances

Because knitting is excuse enough

Boys and Chicken's Sewing Adventure

Previously Boys and Chickens, I have created a new blog to share my sewing adventure as 2018 is they year I plan to teach myself to sew! There will also be bits of crochet and cooking too.

Clotho & Frigg

sewing and design studio

delightfultones

One girl's creative adventure.